City of Tipton Celebrates Ribbon Cutting of Tipton Solar Park


TIPTON, IN – Officials from the City of Tipton joined with state and federal legislators and the Indiana Municipal Power Agency (IMPA) to cut the ribbon on the Tipton Solar Park on Monday.  Mayor Don Havens, Representative Susan Brooks, Representative Tony Cook, and personnel from the offices of Senator Mike Braun joined with IMPA Executive Vice President and COO Jack Alvey and city and county council personnel to recognize the milestone in the community. Tipton is one of 18 IMPA member communities to have a solar park.

“This is an exciting day for Tipton,” commented Mayor Don Havens.  “Not only will this solar park provide increased diversity in our generation resources, it will also serve as an excellent educational opportunity for our students, residents, and visitors, and is yet another community benefit to tout for quality of place and economic development purposes.” 

IMPA President and CEO Raj Rao previously commented on the park’s addition to the community.  “IMPA’s ongoing commitment to providing a low-cost, reliable and environmentally responsible power supply to our 61 communities is a top priority for the Agency.  The output of the Tipton Solar Park will remain in the community serving the needs of residents and business alike, while enabling IMPA to continue expanding our diverse portfolio through the addition of solar energy.  We are certain that the park will have a lasting impact on the community.”

The Tipton Solar Park is located on 31 acres of land and is comprised of 17,496 solar panels.  The facility is rated at 5.26 MW and will produce an annual amount of energy to power about 800 homes.  The park will utilize a single axis tracking system that allows the panels to move throughout the day following the path of the sun.

Other IMPA communities in which solar parks have been built include Advance, Anderson, Argos, Bainbridge, Crawfordsville, Flora, Frankton, Greenfield, Huntingburg, Pendleton, Peru, Rensselaer, Richmond, Spiceland, Tell City, Washington, and Waynetown.  IMPA is currently constructing additional solar parks in Centerville, Crawfordsville, Darlington, Gas City, Richmond, and Scottsburg.


The Indiana Municipal Power Agency is the not-for-profit wholesale power provider to 61 cities and towns in Indiana and Ohio who own and operate the municipal electric distribution systems in their communities. IMPA member communities deliver electric service to approximately 340,000 individuals throughout the state.  For more information, visit